The Haunting of Laura

106 42

Traumatic events can sometimes trigger poltergeist activity, but for one young girl, the torment seemed to have no end

It is currently theorized that poltergeist activity arises out of the subconscious of a living person, called an agent. This agent, very often a young girl, usually is known to be under some kind of stress, whether it is emotional, physical or psychological. By some mechanism that is still unknown to science (and paranormal researchers), this inner stress can manifest as phenomena outside the agent.

Turmoil inside the body and mind of the agent becomes a physical reality in the form of knocks on the walls, lights and other electrics flicking off and on by themselves, objects thrown about, and more.

The case of Laura B. might very well qualify her as a poltergeist agent. As a young girl she suffered the anguish of an alcoholic father, who often lashed out in violent anger. It's not surprising, then, that Laura was terrified of her home's basement at night, since that is where her parents' bedroom was. "The creepy feeling in my basement intensified as his alcoholism and addictions grew worse," Laura says, "and I would refuse to go into my parents' room for any reason. There was always a negative feeling in the room, but I always attributed that to my dad."

Evil in itself is not paranormal, and we can easily understand why Laura would get negative feelings from that room. About five years ago, however, her parents divorced, and that's when the line began to be crossed into the unexplained - when the poltergeist activity began.


"All of the negative feelings that had been in my parents' room suddenly moved into my room and intensified," Laura says. Now on one level this could be understood as a psychological reaction. Many children feel responsible or guilty for their parents' divorces, and Laura might have been transferring the negative feelings she once had about her parents' room (her father) and brought them into her own room (her unjustified guilt).

But now that she was directing this fear and trauma inward, it began to manifest in outward phenomena.

"I had taken the TV from downstairs into my room but always had to sleep with it on or with me facing the other direction," Laura says in explaining how the phenomena began. "If I looked around my room at night, I would always see a tiny red orb zip across my room. I would watch it zoom from one side of my room to another, almost like the red dot from a laser pointer. Shortly after I would see this red light, if I looked at my TV there would be a small green square flashing at the center of the screen. This square would get larger with each flash and looked like it was an image, but I was way too scared to look at it. The flashing TV sent me extremely bad vibes and I would always turn on the lights or the TV afterward so I wouldn't be in the dark, terrible, silent dark."

If this happened just once we might dismiss this experience as a hallucination, but the phenomenon repeated night after night for Laura. "Each night I would see the screen flash once and be too terrified to even consider looking at it. I realized that the red light was a sign that the TV would flash, so I would always turn on the TV or slam my eyes shut when I saw it. I got so scared of the red light and green flash that I stopped sleeping in my room altogether."


Fast forward to a year after Laura's parents divorced. It was the end of the school year and Laura decided to have a sleepover party with a few close friends to celebrate. Laura planned for them to sleep in the living room, making the excuse that her bedroom was too small. "I had other reasons for saying that, she says."

One girl was intent on sneaking into Laura's room, however, and when she did so, Laura had a disturbing vision. "What I saw made me go cold," she recalls. "Black, smog-like gunk was oozing out from the crack under my door into the hallway. It was one of the most disgusting looking things I have ever seen."

Next page:All Hell Unleashed

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.